Home Coming

DeletedUser

This is something I have been writing from time to time from the day I started playing Grepolis. At the start I made an entry for every new type of building I constructed, and here is a piece I did on my first attack of a neighbor.

Since then I have limited new writings to major offensives, a few spy operations and all my conquests. For the most part these stories are just for myself, hastily written light histories of my polis and it's progress. None of this has been thoroughly edited or improved upon but a friend enjoyed this particular story and thought I should post it sometime. That was weeks ago, and here it is. I apologize in advance if it is lengthy but it is one of my shorter examples.

Home Coming

Aurave stood atop the Senate steps eyeing the activity below in the barracks, paying particular attention to the horsemen. Stable boys were running around haphazardly, farmers carting in hay by the wagon load, and new recruits were riding in the fields. His military leaders had truly surpassed all expectations in the build up of a mounted force rivaled only by the riders Thessalonica.

Behind him the newly appointed captain of the cavalry, Podromi, hurried up the steps and prepared to give his daily report. His tanned and battle-scared face betrayed no sign of exhaustion as he greeted Aurave and began.

"Archon, both of the mounted raids on the northern farming villages were carried out flawlessly. The villagers were in such awe and fear that they gave up the majority of their stored resources without protest."

"Perhaps they will cooperate on their own in the future without the threat of force. And the resources, where are they now?" asked Aurave, smiling and clearly pleased with the outcome of events.