Is this game "Pay to Win"?

DeletedUser

Hello,

I just signed up today to check this game out. I've been playing Lord of Ultima for about three years now. I love that game, but I'm a bit burned out on it. I've been looking for a game that is somewhat similar, but a bit more up to date, and Grepolis seems to fit the bill so far. The only concern I have for this game (for any "free to play" game actually) is whether or not this game is "free to win".

I don't know if any of you have played Lord of Ultima before, but you could buy artifacts to use. However, you could farm way more artifacts in game than you could reasonably pay for. Also, there was a throttle as to how many artifacts you could use at a time (mana). Also, you really didn't NEED to buy any artifacts to play competitively. The only think you really need to play seriously were the ministers (very similar to the helpers in this game), which worked out to be about $5 a month which I gladly paid for the reduction of trivial city management tasks.

I'm hoping that the helpers in this game is all you really need to play. Although, it appears that they cost a bit more than the ministers in LoU, but if this ends up being a good game I enjoy, I'll gladly pay it. I just want to make sure that there are no opportunities in this game for someone to pour massive amounts of money into it and completely outmatch everyone else because of it. Again, I don't mind small boosts, especially if there is a throttle, but I just don't want to be severely unmatched against Wallet-Warriors no matter how well I play.

Anyway, any thoughts on this from you Grepolis veterans is greatly appreciated.

Meangrumpy

DeletedUser27700

There are really no massive advantages for you to purchase.
There are things that save time mostly, and some that save resources, but there is nothing I would consider "pay to win" here.

DeletedUser