The Morality of a Download

DeletedUser50935

Is it ever right to download something owned by another off the internet?
Pretty much everything is available to download free of charge... Even those that can be purchased, so the question here is it ever right to download a paid piece of software off the internet for free in any situation?
I will argue for whichever side has the least supporters...

DeletedUser

No, it isn't. It doesn't matter how big or small the artist is, or the owner of said item if we aren't talking music, the owner has put work into the product and makes a living off of selling it. People downloading things for free are wrong. I myself buy albums, and I have an itunes subscription so at least a bit of my money goes to the artists per renewal. But this is pushing it really. If I had more money I would buy each album (i'm 15 so I can't) to show my support for the music.

DeletedUser8396

No, it isn't. It doesn't matter how big or small the artist is, or the owner of said item if we aren't talking music, the owner has put work into the product and makes a living off of selling it. People downloading things for free are wrong. I myself buy albums, and I have an itunes subscription so at least a bit of my money goes to the artists per renewal. But this is pushing it really. If I had more money I would buy each album (i'm 15 so I can't) to show my support for the music.

Although I agree, I feel like arguing the opposite lol...cause why not? Do know, this argument is going to be some intense load of bull.

The act in question is, more or less, asking whether or not theft is immoral when the item stolen is digital. I would say no, and this is why: