Are there too many worlds?

DeletedUser

I've been playing Grepolis since it was about 6 months old. Started in Alpha and Beta, but left for Zeta and Epsilon as the speed matched my playing style better. The original worlds were scrappy, had real battles every single day and almost no simming. I really learned how to play this game in Zeta and Epsilon with some truly outstanding players. Many of us went to the Hero Worlds after the Age of Wonders ruined those servers.

The Hero Worlds brought together outstanding players from many worlds and that's where I discovered that, despite my experience etc, that I am only an average player in that milieu lol. The first few months were furious and filled with all the excitement of Epsilon and Zeta (I won't get into the argument of pre-made alliances here lol). We had a lot of fun and for some undefinable reason, we seem to have lapsed into a more sedentary style of play overall.

The rest of the worlds keep popping up all over the place and players move from one to another to see what the new world is like (myself included - while keeping my core worlds going). Eventually, we pick one that we like and that suits us and we leave the others.

I'm not entirely certain why so many worlds keep getting created - we don't seem to be getting thousands of new players, just recycling the rest of us lol.

My thought is that we should definitely slow down on popping out new worlds and give the existing worlds a chance to grow. I loved this game when it first came out. It became a second job for a while (you guys that have been around for more than two years know what I mean) until we reorganized our R/L and sorted out our priorities. Now, it seems that I can accomplish all my gaming goals by logging on only twice per day without much danger of catastrophic situations happening to my personal empire.